TRANSPORTATION POLICY BOARD MEETING MINUTES Of May 21, 2021

Call to Order:

Chairperson Lina Ortega called the Transportation Policy Board (TPB) meeting to order at 9:04 am at the El Paso MPO Office, 211 N. Florence, Boardroom Suite 103, and El Paso, TX 79901, conducted telephonically and by video conference. TPB Member attendance was as follows:

MEMBERS PRESENT	TITLES	MEMBERS ABSENT	TITLES
1. Lina Ortega (Chair)	TX State Representative, 77th District	Joseph Cervantes	NM Senator, District 31
2. Walter Miller (V-Chair)	Alderman 1, Town of Horizon	Esteban Olivas	Alderman, Town Clint
	Director, Mass Transit-Sun Metro	Antonio Araujo	Mayor City of San Elizario
4. Trent Doolittle	District Engineer, NMDOT	Raymundo Lara	NM State Representative – 34th District
5. Manuel Leos	Mayor, Village of Vinton	Benjamin Romero	Mayor, Town of Anthony, TX
6. Cissy Lizarraga	City Representative, District 8	César Blanco	TX State Senator
7. Ricardo Samaniego	Judge, El Paso County	Art Fierro	TX State Representative – 79th District
8. Yvette Hernandez	Grant Funded Program Director, COEP	Joe Moody	TX State Representative – 78th District
9. Cassandra Hernandez	City Representative – District 3	Mary E. Gonzalez	TX State Representative – 75th District
	City Manager, City of El Paso	Javier Perea	Mayor, Sunland Park, NM
	Public Works Director, County of El Paso	Claudia Ordaz-Perez	TX State Representative – 76th District
	City Representative – District 7		
	Doña Ana County Assist. Manager of Operations		
	District Engineer, TXDOT – El Paso		
	El Paso County Commissioner, Precinct 3	MPO STAFF	
	Director of Aviation, EP International Airport	Sergio Estrada	MPO/TPB Attorney
	Mayor, City of El Paso	Eduardo Calvo	Executive Director
	Mayor Anthony, NM	Harrison Plourde	Assistant Director
19. Ivy Avalos	Mayor, City of Socorro	Gabriela Lopez	Associate Regional Transportation Analyst
20.		Marisol Enriquez	Admin. Secretary / TPB Recording Sec
21.		Claudia Valles	Transportation Planner
22.		Lizeth Peña	Administrative Specialist
23.		Salvador Gonzalez Ayala	Transportation Manager
24.		Sonia Perez	Regional Transportation Planner
25.			
OTHERS PRESENT		OTHERS PRESENT	
Art Estrada – TXDOT	Javier Paz- El Paso County		
Blanca Serrano – TXDOT	Mayela Granados – Senator		
	Blanco's Office		
Christabelle Guzman -	Nicholette Ruiz –Judge		
	Samaniego's Office		
David Cantu – City of el Pas			
Eddie Valtier – TXDOT	Teresa Quezada – Horizon City		
Estrella Escobar – Mayor Le			
Greg McNicol – TPAC Chair Raul Ortega- City of El Paso			

(Meeting began with 18 members)

* No Public Comment: No member of the public signed up for Initial Public Comment.

DISCUSSION AND ACTION:

 Approve the minutes of the April 23, 2021 Transportation Policy Bard (TPB) meeting. Motion to approve the minutes for the April 23, 2021 Transportation Policy Board (TPB) meeting, made by Commissioner Iliana Holguin, and seconded by Alderman Walter Miller. Motion passed unanimously.

DISCUSSION AND ACTION TO APPROVE RECOMMENDATIONS FROM THE TRANSPORTATION PROJECT ADVISORY COMMITTEE

- <u>T0:</u>
- 2. To provide resolution of support for City of El Paso's projects to be submitted to the U.S. Department of Transportation's (USDOT) RAISE grant program:

- a) Texas/Alameda Corridor TOD Reconstruction
- b) Upper Deck I-10 Planning Grant

Motion to provide resolution of support for City of El Paso's projects to be submitted to the U.S. Department of Transportation's (USDOT) RAISE grant program:

- a) Texas/Alameda Corridor TOD Reconstruction
- b) Upper Deck I-10 Planning Grant

made by Representative Henry Rivera and seconded by Representative Cissy Lizarraga. Tomas Trevino abstained. Motion passed.

REPORTS AND DISCUSSION:

- 3. External Audit Report of the El Paso MPO performed by the TXDOT Compliance Division Status report provided by EPMPO – Eduardo Calvo
- 4. New Mexico CMAQ/TAP call for projects Status report provided by EPMPO – Gabriela Lopez
- 5. New Mexico Transportation Project Fund (TPF) call for projects Status report provided by EPMPO – Gabriela Lopez

*Trent Doolittle commented

- 6. Fiscal Year (FY) 2022-2023 Unified Planning Work Program (UPWP) 30-day public involvement Status report provided by EPMPO – Gabriela Lopez
- 7. RMS 2050 Travel Demand Model Status Report Status report provided by EPMPO – Claudia Valles
- Regional Mobility Strategy (RMS) 2020 Project Development Status Report Status report provided by EPMPO – Eduardo Calvo
- 9. Executive Director's Report
 - a) Notice of Funding Opportunity for FY2021 RAISE grant program (former BUILD, TIGER)
 - b) The American Jobs Plan
 - Status report provided by EPMPO Eduardo Calvo

The **next meeting** of the TPB is scheduled for <u>9:00 a.m.</u> on <u>June 25, 2021</u> at the El Paso MPO Office located at 211 N. Florence Street, Suite 103 (MPO Boardroom on 1st Floor), El Paso, TX 79901.

*These projects met the seven-day public comment requirement of the El Paso MPO's Public Participation Plan.

10. Adjournment.

Motion to adjourn at 9:41 a.m. made by Mayor Leeser, seconded by Representative Henry Rivera. Motion carried unanimously.

EXECUTIVE SESSION:

The Transportation Policy Board may retire into **EXECUTIVE SESSION** pursuant to the Texas Government Code, Chapter 551, Subchapter D, to discuss any of the following: (The items listed below are matters of the sort routinely discussed in Executive Session, but the Transportation Policy Board may move to Executive Session any of the items on this agenda, consistent with the terms of the Open Meetings Act.) The Transportation Policy Board will return to open session to take any final action and may also, at any time during the meeting, bring forward any of the following items for public discussion, as appropriate.

The TPB did not retire into Executive Session.

Approved as to content:

Marisol Enriquez, Recording Secretary of the Transportation Policy Board for the El Paso MPO Study Area